Skip to content

Little Moments of Pleasure on the Way to Work

February 6, 2011

“Because we don’t know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens only a certain number of times, and a very small number really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that is so deeply part of your being that you, that you can’t even conceive of your life without it. Perhaps four or five times more, perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps 20. And yet it all seems limitless”. – Paul Bowles

Magsx left a comment on a post from last week saying that it would be hard to beat my (still current) ride to work, and I have to thank her a lot for reminding me of that. I still agree that riding a boat is pretty awesome but I’ve gotten used to this “routine” and often forget to look out of the window to simply enjoy the scenery.

So last Friday, in the spirit of this quote from Paul Bowles, I took the time to take a few photos to share with you. I hope you enjoy these!

Sunrise from the lake

Birds sleeping together  in the morning

Someone relaxing at lunchtime

Snow capped mountains in the distance

Clear waters… but cold!

Fishermen’s nets

Cute swan

A carousel waiting for summer

Sunset on the port

The other side of the lake, after sunset

To be honest, I am falling a little behind on my goal of writing letters, which is why I’m delaying the posts on letters for a little while 😉

From → Blog

9 Comments
  1. Wow! Your commute is just a little amazing. *grin*

  2. These pictures are beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  3. The photos are beautiful. Love both sunrise and sunset. Or I love them all 😀

    • Hi Lisa and Yor!

      I’m really glad you liked these pictures, it feels great to share that scenery.

  4. Hi,
    It’s amazing what we miss sometimes especially if we are always on the same road, boat, whatever, I think we seem to forget to just look around.
    Lovely extract by Paul Bowles and well chosen.

    The photo’s are wonderful, your trip to work everyday does look to be truly a fantastic trip. Just looking at the different scenery, the wonderful wildlife, and just life in general. I love the fishermen’s nets, the promise of fresh fish yet to come, the carousel waiting for all the children, yes you do have a great things to see on the way to work.

    Thank You for the mention in your blog.

    • This trip to work is more enjoyable since I read your comment, as I try to enjoy little details like those in the pictures.

      I also agree the fishermen’s nets are quite cool, I love to see them at work in the morning (when they bring their catch to the port while we wait for the boat, it looks yummy!)

      And your blog rocks, it’s actually more a favour you’re doing me when you let me mention you 😉

  5. good stuff =))

    • 😀 Not as good as your pictures but here the scenery and sunrise/sunset did most of the job for me

Leave a Reply

