Skip to content

A Short Intro to this Blog

December 6, 2010

Writing thank-you letters to the people who have had an impact in my life is something that I have wanted to do for a long time now, but as most things I would like to do, I always manage to find something else to occupy myself with instead (read: procrastinate). 

So the idea behind this blog is simple: I want to write 101 letters to people who have influenced me, and I hope to do it by the end of 2011. Having sent a grand total of 5 postcards this year, this means that I will need to improve my stats by 2000%, which probably won’t be a walk in the park for someone like me who even has trouble keeping in touch via email.

So why am I doing this?

Well, first of all, I like the feeling of receiving a letter, especially the moments before you even know who’s written to you. So a lot of people probably get the same feeling. Sending a letter to someone is a relatively simple yet very strong way to show someone you care, and that she’s important to you. Don’t you appreciate it when you know that someone took the time and effort to write personnally to you? I do. A lot.

Of course I’m not only writting letters because I want to let people know they have been, or still are, important to me. I do it because I almost never said those important things personnally, or when it really mattered. It’s also a way to make amends for not responding when I should have.

I decided to record the letters sent in a blog for two reasons: it will be a good way to keep track of the advancement of the task, and by being a little public, I might be more committed to it than if I had kept it personal.

A few more things before we start: I will stay anonymous because that will be the best way for me to be truly genuine with what I write; and the names of the people in the letters will be changed because some would be too easily recognizable. Also, the content of the posts will not be the letters themselves, but rather a description of the people I write too, and why I am writing to them.

Now let’s start 🙂

Cheers!

From → Blog

6 Comments
  1. This is a lovely idea for a blog. 🙂

  2. Thank you! I hope you’ll like the portraits of people too 😉

  3. Hi Elchico -Nice idea! I’m curious to read more of your blog!
    What prompted you to start writing letters to so many people?
    Did the idea of the letters come before the blog, or did the idea of the blog come before the letters?! 😛

  4. Hey! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    The idea actually came long before the blog, and I think what really triggered it was “the last lecture” from Randy Pausch. There’s a part of his book where he talks about writing thank-you letters.

    If you have 10 mn go see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BODHsU3hDo4, and if you like the video, you’ll like the book!

  5. Wow this video is amazing…it almost made me cry, you know?!
    Glad you suggested it to me! I don’t actually know Randy Pausch but those 10 mins were truly inspiring and what he says about ‘enjoying and living each moment of life’ instead of complaining, thinking how bad things are…is so true! Life doesn’t become easier or better with time: one just needs to seize the moment!

    I will surely subscribe to your blog to read more of it! 😀

    • Thanks so much for your comment! It incited me to go back and watch the video again, and I can totally relate to what you just said.

      Now if you subscribed, I better do my best to improve the posts on this blog! Thanks

Leave a Reply

